female alopecia
transplants
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

14 yr old girl.....hair loss & bald spots PICTURES

Hi there,
    I have been loosing my hair in great amounts for over two months now. I would like to give you the story on why i think it started. I was hospitalized for a severe (and very rare) allergic reaction called D.R.E.S.S syndrome (Drug Reaction (or Rash) with Eosinophilia and Systemic Symptoms) to a medication called sulfasalizine. I was in the hospital for 6 days and was put on high doses of prednisone ( a steroid). I was on prednisone for 4 months and came off of it on may 13. I started having hair loss in mid april, which is about three months from my sickness. Last week i was diagnosed by my dermatologist with Alopecia Areata. She has put me on protopic 0.1 %. I use it twice a day....I am desperate to try anything except steroids again because i had very unfortunate side affects to the prednisone (moon face, weight gain etc). It is very hard for me to go through this because I have natrually thin, blonde hair and it is getting even thinner by the day. I run my fingers through my hair and come out with 15 maybe 20 hairs... Does anyone know how long this will continue??
    Thanks
    Marina
    Attached Images Attached Images

Experienced Member

Re: 14 yr old girl.....hair loss & bald spots PICTURES

Well I can't answer your questions,but I wan't to welcome you and say Hi!!! someone with more experiance will respond to you soon stay strong honey. D

Experienced Member Devistateddiva's Avatar

I am sorry. I know it must be extremely hard at your age to go through this. If I were you I would try to find cosmetic options. Toppik is a nice concealer. There are toppers/ partial wigs. I hope everything works out. Hang in there!

Devistateddiva- i just took a look at toppik and it looks great! i'm going to order some right away, thanks!

Experienced Member

marina,