female alopecia
transplants

Iron Supplements vs. Blackstrap Molasses

Does anyone know if it's ok to take iron supplements instead of molasses and still receive the same benefits?

I've had a decreased shed with the molasses, but it is very difficult to take (as many of you know). I was hoping to switch to iron pills, but not sure how much to take, if it's safe and if I'll have the same results.

Thanks!

Re: Iron Supplements vs. Blackstrap Molasses

hey, I'm no expert but iron suppliments can make your body do different things depending on the dosage. One thing is constipation because since iron is a metal, it has an effect on the neurons in your brain that causes digestion to slow down. Also it hardens the arteries by inhibiting some sort of protien in the blood vessels. This is long term effects.
    I'll play the safe road by suggesting you consult a physician. Most people on this site will also give you that advice.

However, I have not taken that advice myself. I've been taking iron for four months with no complaints accept constipation for that i take a fiber pill. and my shed had cut back!

Molassas is different from suppliments because some people dont absorb the iron from a pill, they need to get it from the liquid - but I would switch because I'd be worried about my teeth rotting out.

This may be kind of a silly question, but how does one take molasses? I've never had it. I assume it's kind of like honey or something...do you eat it with pancakes?

I too have had issues with being "backed up" while taking iron, but I've heard that people have less of this issue when they take Slow Fe. I'm bought a generic brand from Target that I'm going to try soon, so I'll let you all know how it goes (as I just recently got tested, my ferritin level is at 7. 7!!! Geez).

Coolgirl- what do you mean you would be worried about rotting out from the molasses? Is there a side effect I am not aware of?