Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

2 years on Rogaine... Need advice from long term users

Discussion in 'Women's General Hair Loss Discussions' started by Cas, Jul 22, 2012.

1. Cas

Cas Established Member

Dislikes Received:
    I've been using Rogaine for almost 2 years now.

Once again, in the last couple days my shed, for some reason has picked up dramatically.... once again there are thick streams of hair coming out in the shower.

It seems like Rogaine is working, my hair seems like its almost normal again .... then 'bam' my shed picks up and it thins out again. This is the second time this has happened to this degree. I do get mini-sheds but I think this is the second time I've suffered a big shed while on Rogaine (aside from the dread shed). The last one was last summer.

Is this something that is normal with Rogaine use? Could it be seasonal?

2. Tori

Tori Experienced Member

Dislikes Received:
    It was normal for me. Right at the peak of regrowth (summer), I would shed my progress and start all over again. It never got as bad as when I started out, but still completely frustrated and mentally drained me.

3. HairyIssues

HairyIssues Established Member

Dislikes Received:
    I've used Rogaine for almost 15 years, on and off. I have CTE, so this might not apply to others. IME, the shedding has nothing to do with Rogaine. Rogaine has no effect on shedding except when you first start using it as it accelerates the resting phase. Rogaine only prolongs the growing phase of the hair cycle, thus keeping more hair on your scalp for longer. My shedding is always due to diet or stress.

4. Tori

Tori Experienced Member

Dislikes Received:
    I just always figured that it knocked the hair out in the beginning, making it all grow back in at the same time. Then it would shed at roughly the same time. Either way, I didn't have the issue before rogaine and haven't had it since.

5. Cas

Cas Established Member