Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

Antidepressants and hairloss

Discussion in 'Women's General Hair Loss Discussions' started by Lostinhairloss, Apr 9, 2017.

1. Lostinhairloss

Lostinhairloss New Member

Dislikes Received:
    Does anybody have opinion on antidepressants causing hairloss?
    Lately i've been overwhelmed by my hairloss, i literally fight everyday to keep going, i cry at least 3/4 hours daily, feeling suicidal to be honest...i really wish i could feel better so i thought about medication. But i'm so afraid that it would make my hairloss even worse! I just can't risk that. I know that hairloss is not a very common sideffect of the drug, however it's possible. Should i risk that?
    Thank you everyone for your answers

2. Silvi

Silvi Member

Dislikes Received:
    Hi lost in hair loss I feel overwhelmed by my hair loss too and some days are better than others, I am not a doctor, but I try to do things I enjoy and distract my mind with that, doing yoga when I can, I am going to the acupuncturist with my insurance. I try to go out in walks when I feel overwhelmed. Sometimes I cry too, also I try to think that with all the bad things that happen to people in the world, hair loss is not the end of the world, that doesnt mean its not very hard on the one who sufffers it, but also I think suicide is not a possible solution. And in the worst case scenario I would have to wear a wig...try to focus on beautiful things (I focus in that my husband and daughter need me to survive). Look for people that love you, that emotionally depend on you. Please, realize that suicide is not an option. If you really really think you need medication go to a psychologist, psychiatrist, SEARCH FOR HELP, do not just settle with dark feelings, WE DESERVE MORE, BETTER AND WE ARE UNIQUE, HAIR OR NO HAIR.

3. MeliM

MeliM Established Member

Dislikes Received: