Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

Becoming Comfortable With Yourself And Embracing Hair Loss

Discussion in 'Living with Androgenetic Alopecia' started by VeeBee, Jan 24, 2018.

1. VeeBee

VeeBee New Member

Dislikes Received:
    Hi everyone,

I am a fellow Androgenetic Alopecia sufferer. I am an Indian woman from Singapore. Currently I live in the West Coast of the US.

I have been facing this issue for the last 10 years, and in those years, I have come a long way from the person I was. When I was first diagnosed at age 18, I was devastated, lost, confused and hopeless. I spent many days crying in front of the mirror. I couldn't find anyone who would hear my story...people would dismiss my concerns as something that was trivial. I would also get comments whenever I would go to India about the thinness of my hair, and my scalp being visible. I became self-conscious and defensive when the issue of my hair loss would be raised.

Now, after all this time, and because of the immense support from my spouse, I have at least made some headway into the emotional trauma of hair loss. He reminds me of all the things I have, and the things he likes about me. This has helped me realize that people still love me in spite of my hair loss (something I never thought possible when I was diagnosed!)...but the battle is still not over. Although I have finally (!) opened up to my close ones about my hair loss, I still fear unsolicited comments from other people. I do sometimes worry about revealing bald spots in public...so I tie my hair up ALL the time. Unfortunately some people lack empathy/emotional intelligence, and they just stare at my scalp or make a rude comment.

So my question to you is this: how do I gracefully embrace my hair loss, and become more open about it? I can't get over the "what will others think about me" problem.

2. hairlosshelp

hairlosshelp Established Member

Dislikes Received: