Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

Di's Story - I'm about two weeks in and worried.....

Discussion in 'Tell Your Story' started by Di, Dec 1, 2005.

1. Di

Di Guest

Let me just start by saying how relieved I am to have found this wonderful site - your stories are helping me through the dark times that we all must go through at this point. I'm not alone and it helps, truly.
    I'm new to this so bear with me - i'm learning as much as I can as fast as i can, a coping mechanism i presume.

Im 36 and noticed a few weeks ago just how fine my hair was getting. I thought I was imagining it, but it really did seem thinner than normal - i've never been blessed with the thickest hair anyway, but any volume i did have was gone. Then about two weeks ago, whilst doing my hair I saw my scalp through my parting. I thought it was because I was standing directly under the light but when I looked at my hair from the back through the mirror I was horrified to find that there was SO much hair gone. No bald patches as such, but the hair on the crown and the top is so wispy that you can see my scalp showing. The feeling was indescribable - i thought I was going to be sick, my heart pounding in my chest. It really had happened over a couple of weeks. How had I not seen it? Had everyone else and not said anything to me? I tried to be brave, thinking of all explanations - the 'standing under the light' thing seemed to work for a week or so until i used another mirror. I realised I was right - my hair was coming out. I went into panic mode, looking for realistic wigs etc - that was when I came across this site.