Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

Have To Get Colonscopy- Already Have Cte

Discussion in 'Women's General Hair Loss Discussions' started by patient_flower, Jan 12, 2018.

1. patient_flower

Dislikes Received:
    Hello, all

Today I found out I have to get a colonoscopy as I have family history (mom and sister) of Crohns disease. Despite supplementation for a year some of my nutrients are still very deficient. I also have bathroom troubles and abdominal pain. I've had CTE for 3 years.

I know anesthesia can cause hair loss. I have very little hair left, and am wondering if I should cancel the colonoscopy? I cannot deal with more hair loss. I've even ruled out having children as that can cause hair loss!

Anyone have experience with getting a surgery or colonoscopy while in a TE? What happened?
    My heart is breaking.

2. losing_it

losing_it Established Member

Dislikes Received:
    Hey there! I am an Operating Room nurse. Yes, they do say that operations can cause hair loss, but I believe that are talking about large operations where you lose a lot of blood, are under for hours with a breathing tube, etc. In a colonoscopy, you actually do not go all the way under. They do not place a breathing tube at all. They will give you a medication called Versed, which is in the same class of drugs as Xanax (benzodiazepines). Versed is not only relaxing like Xanax is, but it also has an amnesia effect, which is why some people may think that they were asleep. But you will actually be awake, while sedated, for the entire procedure.