Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

Helpless Diagnosis today...when will I learn to accept this?

Discussion in 'Tell Your Story' started by Danita44, Mar 10, 2014.

1. Danita44

Danita44 Guest

I've been visiting this site for almost two years now--looking for answers and trying to calm my fears. Today I registered. I need this forum to express my feelings and thoughts.

I've hidden my hairloss from family and friends up until very recently. My shedding is diffuse--so not many people have noticed...or said anything. At least half of the volume of my hair is gone. I've had every test run on me. My hormones are fine. Thyroid is fine. Iron level is good. Vitamin D level is good. No lupus. No systemic illness of any sort. Today I received what I feel is the final diagnosis for my hair shedding--drumroll...no medical cause can be found. Scalp biopsy resluts: No TE...No androgenic alopecia. Healthy scalp. Okay. That's good news, right? Well then why am I losing so much hair everyday? My story is the same as many I've read.

I'm 43. The shed began about 2 years ago. More strands falling down my legs in the shower. More strands in the hairbrush/comb. More strands of hair everywhere. And lately, it been picking up speed. I stopped counting. It just fills me with anxiety to count. I started Rogaine last week. To say the shed increased would not begin to describe it. I was literally shaking in the shower this Friday and didn't leave the house for the entire weekend. I was certain my hair was all going to fall out overnight. It hasn't, however, the shedding is still terrible. I've researched hours and hours on-line. Many say to stick with the Rogaine through this "dread shed". Today my dermatologist said the same. So I will. Half-heartedly.