Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

I'm a model. And was diagnosed with Alopecia Areata.

Discussion in 'Women's Alopecia Areata' started by DianaMiranda, Feb 2, 2008.

1. DianaMiranda

DianaMiranda Guest

My general physician told me that it was telegum effluvium, and not to worry. But the shedding continued, and I noticed bald patches on my legs and arms, so I decided to go to the dermitologist. Good thing I did, right?

I am a model. Or I was. That's the hardest part of all of this, for me.

I don't know. I've been surfing these forums since two months ago, but now that I have been diagnosed with Alopecia Areata, and this is going to be a more permanent thing, I figured I should register and be vocal and try to find support.

My parents are on vacation in Mexico, and my mother was so scared that my hair loss was due to Alopecia Areata. She's going to freak out when she comes home and finds out. Plus, my hair has drastically shedded within the past three weeks, and now I have a huge ring of baldness all around my head (I only have hair on the crown of my head).

I'm twenty by the way, and I live in a dormitory at my university. I feel like every day it's a god damn Pantene Pro-V commercial. I'm so jealous of all the girls around me with their gorgeous hair.

EDIT: My avatar is a modeling photo from early November. Crazy to think how I had a full, healthy head of hair only three months ago!

2. SAMANTHA07

SAMANTHA07 Guest

hi diana
    well i am the same like you till the begining of december i had only 2 patches.
    now i am almost compltely bald
    why did he say it is something permanent?

3. SAMANTHA07

SAMANTHA07 Guest

and please don't feel alone.
    we all feel your pain, because we are feeling like you.
    we know how it feels.
    i am 27

4. DianaMiranda

DianaMiranda Guest