Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

New to the group

Discussion in 'Newly Diagnosed Alopecians' started by molly1981, Oct 29, 2009.

1. molly1981

molly1981 Guest

Hello Everyone,

I have been reading the posts for a while now and gathering information and trying to sort through all of this. I had a bout of Alopecia Areata as a child around age 12 and now it is back at age 28. I started out with a small patch behind my ear that got larger over the past few months and I have two new areas on the top of my head and nape of my neck. The shedding is showing no sign of stopping.

I went to a new derm today who gave me another round of injections (my third since August) and really just seemed perplexed on what to do with me. They gave me a really strong topical steroid foam and also want me to take a large dose of oral steroids which is really what is concerning me. I am a nurse and am very concerned about the side effects of taking oral steroids for 3 wks but am also at the point where I can't hide the hair loss much longer at the rate that I am losing.

Any thoughts or suggestions? They also wanted me to use the Rogain Foam but that seems to really lower my blood pressure and give me quite a headache!

Thanks in advance for you thoughts and suggestions :)

2. Joann

Joann Moderator

Dislikes Received:
    Welcome Molly. :grouphug: I'm sorry to hear that the Alopecia Areata is back. My hairloss is also from Alopecia Areata which I have had on and off since I was very young.