Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

Not Sure If My Diffuse Hair Loss Is Androgenetic Alopecia Or Te?

Discussion in 'The Undiagnosed' started by jldk, Nov 29, 2018.

1. jldk

jldk New Member

Dislikes Received:
    Hello,
    This is my first time posting although I’ve been reading for awhile.
    So just some background: I have always had average hair, not thick or thin really. Around 2 years ago I went to a stylist who bleached it and cut it really choppy. It looked horrible, and I cried for weeks! I thought then that I would just have to wait a year or so and it would all be grown out.
    Well, about 3 months later it began to shed more than usual. I had my thyroid checked, which was good. It eventually stopped and I didn’t think much of it. It thickened back up and I didn’t worry any more about it. In July of this year, it started shedding a crazy amount (more than before). I did have a crazy amount of stress and anxiety over the last year. I also had a miscarriage and d&c in March. I have gone to 2 dermatologists. The first was in September, she was not at all thorough. Told me I had a mix of TE and Androgenetic Alopecia (because my temples were thin, but they’ve always been a little thin and the high shedding). I went to a different dermatologist in October who did a pull test, asked me about body hair (legs don’t have as much hair as before) and checked out my scalp pretty well (but not magnified). He said he was 99.9% sure it was not Androgenetic Alopecia and was TE. He said if not improved in 6 months he would do a biopsy. My ferritin is 39 and I’m on iron pills. Thyroid is still good.
    In the mean time, I am so stressed about my hair loss, mainly because I don’t know how/ if it is going to progress.