Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

propranolol and hair loss

Discussion in 'Medications that can cause Hair Loss' started by kj0315, Jan 3, 2011.

1. kj0315

kj0315 Guest

I have been losing hair and had thinning hair for several years. Been diagnosed with female pattern hair loss, tried many things to cope. Up until a few months ago I had been pretty happy being in a "holding pattern" with the hair loss...no better, but no worse. Recently I have noticed that the loss is back and visually harder to hide. Anyway, being new to this site, I have been doing alot of reading and came across this thread of medications that can cause hair loss. In checking the list I have found that the propanolol that I have been taking for mitral valve prolapse since September is on the list. Does anyone have any experience with this? If so, would a medication change allow for some regrowth? I am not sure why my doctor would prescribe this to me knowing my history of hair loss.

2. Louise

Louise Guest

Hi KJO315,

First of all I am so sorry you are having to go through this hairloss. I am assuming that your doctor prescribed this beta blocker (propanolol) for your heart condition as he/she felt that you cannot live without your heart but can live without your hair and also may be it was their first drug nof choice for your condition. To them your hairloss was not as important as your heart.

Hope you get some resolution to your hairloss issues soon.

All the Best
    Louise

3. Vlal

Vlal Guest

:agree: I take Propranolol, but I already had my hair loss for years before I had to take it. I am more interested in protecting my heart and not having horrible heart symptoms than losing my hair... I know that probably sounds weird, but I can fix my cosmetic issues from the hair loss much easier than I can cope with being physically sick.