Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

question- added pics.

Discussion in 'Women's Alopecia Areata' started by beachlover24, May 3, 2009.

1. beachlover24

beachlover24 Guest

Hi. I am new to all of this and have a question. I went to the dermatologist the other day due to a thin round area of hair on the front of my scalp, as well as an area on the side/back area of my scalp. He told me it was alopecia areata, but I am confused because the spots are not bald, just a lot thinner than the rest of my hair. He said he didnt think it was genetic hair thinning because of the pattern of the hair loss. Is it possible to have alopecia areata when i dont have bald spots, just spots that are really thin. Am i just being paranoid that he diagnosed me wrong?
    By the way Im 24 years old and I have a identical twin sister and she does not have this probelm.Oh, andI have inflammation of the thyriod and hypothyriodism, but my endo doesn't think its bad enough to put me on meds. Anyway, hope everyone is doing well! Thanks for the feedback! The 2nd pic is of the side/back spot. It all looks way worse than i thought it would.

2. summer

summer Member

Dislikes Received:
    Re: question

Hi beachlover

I have Alopecia Areata but that doesn't make me an expert. I think it might be better for you if you go for a second opinion. sometimes it's long to have an appointment but at least you will be more sure of what you got so you can treat it as fast as you can. I know that before being completely bald the spots start showing as areas with less hair, that's what happened to me. Although I had one spot and it became huge. I hope you find an answer fast.

3. brokendreams

brokendreams Guest