Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

Shameful Retailers

Discussion in 'Women's Alopecia Areata' started by orbit, Mar 6, 2008.

1. orbit

orbit Guest

As a result of the interaction I've had with ladies on these message boards I did a little research online to see what options were available to other specifically Canadian Alopecia Areata, AT Alopecia Universalis suffers out there wishing to purchase an inexpensive / affordable wig. Its been sometime since I purchased a wig the conventional retail way and I suppose I've been a little out of touch with the whole process.

I was appalled and disgusted :freaked: to see the prices that retailers are charging for wigs. Specifically I researched a few styles that I am very familiar with (I've been wearing the Raquel Welch brand for about 6 years now). I am well aware of the wholesale acquisition costs of this line of wigs for retailers in Canada, and what the suggested retail prices from the distributor / manufacturer are. When I saw that the wigs were being marked up buy an ADDITIONAL and unnecessary $200-$400 per wig over and above the MSRP my heart sank and I felt very frustrated.

My interpretation of one retailer here in Canada markets themselves as The hairloss salvation - one stop shopping spot. There's lots of info on the business owner's expertise, caring persona, background etc. And yes they offer all kind of brands, various quality of wigs, consultation services, wig styling, colouring etc. etc. They are closely affiliated with programs offered through the Ontario government catering to patients suffering from a wide variety of hairloss.