Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

shaving head for transplant

Discussion in 'Hair Transplants for Women' started by farha, Oct 11, 2007.

1. farha

farha Guest

i want to ask if it is necessary to get the head shaved for hair transplant or it can be done without shaving.

2. scraggy

scraggy Guest

Farha..

Iam not sure, my friend in canada had a transplant, but i am sure that they only shave where they are going to implant the hair....

Scraggy

3. Deirdre

Deirdre Senior Member

Dislikes Received:
    I don't think they do. When I saw a doctor about a consult re hair transplant he said not to even think about it at this point because it would just damage the hairs I still have that are "barely hanging on." Sigh. I think people just go on after the transplant without having to cover up specially because of it. But I am not an expert on the subject at all!

4. angel706

angel706 Guest

Farha, the whole head does not have to be shaved, no. Some doctors will shave the donor strip that they remove from the back of the head, and also shave down the recipient area where the grafts are going. Other doctors will only shave the donor strip, but not the recipient area.

Are you considering having a hair transplant? Because if so, there is a lot of research you need to do, and your choice of doctor will be absolutely CRUCIAL to whether or not you have a good result. This is if you are even deemed a good candidate for the surgery.

Can I ask what type of loss you are experiencing? Is it diffuse loss all over the head? Or is it more in a male-type pattern (receding hairline and temples?)

I had a transplant in Feb. 2006. I can tell you it's not for everyone, and you have to be very realistic about your expectations. You will not gain any new hair from a transplant, you are just moving around the hair you already have.

Let me know if I can answer any other questions...

5. farha

farha Guest

dear angel ,