Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

SSRI's (eg Zoloft) and hairloss? Anti-depressant

Discussion in 'Medications that can cause Hair Loss' started by VANESA, Jun 20, 2008.

1. VANESA

VANESA Guest

Hello Girls,

Does anybody seem to think that an SSRI anti- depressant caused their hairloss? :(

Or did it trigger your genetic hairloss (Androgenetic Alopecia -androgenetic Alopecia) to start earlier than it would have?? :shakehead:

Did your hair thinning or TE start 3 to 4 months after taking Zoloft or straight away?

Just wanting feedback from anyone here who has been on Zoloft or another similar SSRI antidepressant?

Other than hairloss have you had any OTHER temporary or permanent side affects?
    Thank you very much. :)

2. Mirkin

Mirkin Guest

I'm a registered nurse so drugs I know ;) . SSRIs can cause light hairloss. In most cases this does not occur but with all drugs each individual has their own side effects. All drugs have insomnia and hair loss as side effects. It covers the drug company for liability issues later. I take Lexapro and if you research you will see that this drug has few side effects. I am dating a doctor so he prescribes this one a lot. My hair loss started way before Lexapro so I can't honestly say the drug caused hair loss. If you believe Zoloft started your loss stop it and see. It usually takes four to six weeks to peak in your system. If you need any info let me know. God Bless! :)

3. alicat

alicat Guest

I first started anti depressants when I was 14. I took Prozac and it didn't do anything to my hair which was gorgeous then! I have also taken Paxil, Imiprimine, Amitripiline and others I cannot remember. I am currently on Effexor XR. Like I said, I started anti depressants when I was 14, and hair loss didn't start for me (that I noticed) until I was 18. For ME, anti depressants weren't the cause of hair loss.