Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

Stopping lo loestrin

Discussion in 'Women's General Hair Loss Discussions' started by patient_flower, Jul 9, 2016.

1. patient_flower

Dislikes Received:
    Hello my friends,

I wanted some opinions on stopping lo loestrin at this point. I've been shedding for 16 months without much improvement (telogen effluvium).

've been taking lo loestrin for the past 5 years so while it didn't trigger the initial shedding, it might be hindering regrowth? I'm just not growing back hair at the same rate that I'm losing it.

What do you ladies think of stopping lo loestrin? Would it cause a horrible shed? I don't have much left in certain spots and soon I'll be using hair fillers, so I'm uncertain.

Should I wait for more regrowth/recovery before stopping so I don't go completely bald or just bite the bullet and do it now?

Thanks ladies. I appreciate your insight. This has been a tough journey.

2. mellie

mellie Established Member

Dislikes Received:
    Hi Flower, like nes said, no one can predict what will happen once you get off the pill but it's likely that it will trigger another bout of TE. Personally, I think it's better not to be on the pill at all (read Lara Briden's blog post about hair loss) but obviously stopping it may make things worse at first. I'm still on the pill (desogen) but I'm planning on stopping in a few months. A derm I saw had recommended I go on Rogaine for 6 months before deciding if I want to stop the pill (vs stopping now).

Are you still on Rogaine? How is that working for you?

3. mellie

Dislikes Received:
    Hi nes,
    I wouldn't expect her to know everything about hair loss. She's just advocating for a more natural approach to treating most conditions.