Dismiss Notice
Welcome! Please read this announcement regarding the new Forums: Click Here"

Telogen Effluvium v. Androgenic Alopecia

Discussion in 'The Undiagnosed' started by pollymaggoo, Jul 5, 2015.

1. pollymaggoo

pollymaggoo New Member

Dislikes Received:
    This is my first time experiencing either TE or Androgenic Alopecia. I've had a full head of thick hair forever and I was under a lot of stress with moving and anxiety. I noticed my hair shedding 2 months ago and 3 weeks ago pretty severe change in the crown/scalp area. I went to a dermatologist and the test results say 15% TE and the rest non-scarring cicatricial alopecia. Considering there is no hair loss in my family and my hair is shedding like crazy, not in clumps but every time I touch my head and during shower, styling, etc. I'm not sure what to believe.

I'm 33 years old. Has anyone else had experience with TE? I can't imagine my hair being fine 2 months ago and now I'm losing my hair because of androgenic alopecia. But anything is possible.

Thanks for any thoughts on the matter.

2. Sakura

Sakura Established Member

Dislikes Received:
    hi and welcome :) i've been shedding from stress since november but i don't know if it's just TE or if it's Androgenetic Alopecia too.
    did you get a biopsy? if the diagnosis was just TE you will be fine!!

3. raven-haired

raven-haired Member

Dislikes Received:
    Hi pollymaggoo,

I'm 37 and fairly sure I went through a bout of TE last year following an ectopic pregnancy. Unfortunately, I think it's now CTE and definitely unmasking Androgenetic Alopecia. I can't be sure, but I do have two appointments with different dermatologists coming up.

How did your dermatologist diagnose you? Did he/she do a biopsy or anything more than a quick examination of the scalp? If you are doubting the diagnosis definitely seek a second opinion.

4. pollymaggoo

pollymaggoo New Member

Dislikes Received:
    Sakura, thanks for the welcome.